Restaurant Website

Website Audits:

This site audit was for the Rainforest Cafe. I was surprised to see that a lot of the links led to external PDF documents. The menu was not available to view on the web, it needed to be downloaded. I can see this being an issue for customers trying to look up this information on a mobile device or iPad. Other then that, the layout was pretty basic. Each location included a map, which was also an external link so again, I could see that being a problem for mobile device users.

This site audit was for Friendly’s. WOW. So many links that led to the same places, so many links that didn’t work, just SO MANY LINKS. Page after page, I kept ending up at the same place. And they have a lot of what I would call useless information that I feel like if a customer was interested in knowing they could contact someone for it rather then having it on the site. While the design of the website, the colors, etc. are attractive, the functionality is a complete disaster.

This last site audit was for Fuddrucker’s. A lot simpler then the Friendly’s site, as you can see. Almost every link off of the homepage led to a page with either no links or that was presented in more of a Flash manner so the address did not change. They also had the problem, however, of many links leading to the same place (ex. 3 links on just the homepage leading to their eClub). This site was easy to use, navigate, and had a great set up of the menu and photos to go along with each of the meal options.
All three of these sites were pushing their current club membership using numerous links throughout the site. Obviously this is important for restaurant ratings and things like that, so by emphasizing the perks to their clubs they may be able to get more members to take interest.

Mood Board: I didn’t want to put too much clutter because this is going to be a relatively simplistic website based on it’s appeal to children. I included some illustrations that I would like to model, along with photos of children and some colors and patterns that I’m going to utilize.

One comment

  1. research paper

    Greetings from Florida! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to check out your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I love the knowledge you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.
    I’m amazed at how fast your blog loaded on my phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .
    . Anyhow, superb blog!

Leave a Reply

