404 Pages

For my 404 Error page I decided to do Animal Planet. Here is a screen shot of their existing 404 page:

As you can see, it’s not very exciting. The rest of their site has a lot of really great photography and is very friendly looking, appealing to a wide audience. So I had the idea to focus on the pages for the Cats 101 show and the Dogs 101 show since they are particular areas of the site that get a lot of traffic and contain a lot of information. Here are some of the ideas I brainstormed, I had a lot of trouble picking a typeface that worked the way I wanted it to:
Here are the three pages that I came up with:

I tried to go the more humorous route with these designs. I found the pictures and then came up with the ideas for the copy. I admit that it isn’t very strong, but I’m not very good at coming up with witty things to say, so I tried my best.

This last one was a completely different idea. It didn’t come out exactly how I had envisioned it. I had a really hard time finding typefaces to get the look I wanted and still did not completely achieve the look. I also had a hard time with the given colors of the site not standing out enough against the colors in the photograph.

Final Revised Pages:

Leave a Reply

