Title Animation Sequence

The movie I am using for my title sequence is Dazed and Confused. It was made in ’93 but takes place in 1976 and is about a group of high school students on their last day of school. They are big on their cars and “cruising”, smoking and partying, going to the pool hall and the moontower, and are all categorized into a specific group. There are the jocks who are becoming seniors, and it’s their mission throughout the whole movie to get ahold of the incoming freshman boys and basically beat them with home-made paddles. The girls who are becoming seniors have a similar hazing ritual for the incoming freshman girls who want to be a part of the popular crowd. The typical stoners. The smart geeks. You get the picture. Somehow they all party together and are intermingled to be good friends.

Possible Background Music:

Ted Nugent: Stranglehold (http://youtu.be/0c3d7QgZr7g)

Foghat: Slow Ride (http://youtu.be/GcCNcgoyG_0)

Here are two possible comps for the first few frames. They are very different styles, I’m leaning towards the first one because I think it represents the movie a lot better. The second one has a bit too much of a “That 70’s Show” feel.

I’ve been having trouble with thinking of an idea for the transitions between frames in order to keep the different colors and illustrations seperate but also linked together. I like the way transitions are used in this title sequence: http://watchthetitles.com/articles/0064-Le_Cactus, so I may take some cues from that.

I’m also a big fan of the Superbad opening title sequence (http://youtu.be/b5cMERD5S40). The transitions between the two of them dancing are more along the lines of what I’m trying to go for. Critics made comments about the 70’s feel to this sequence, the music and the colors used, alone with the simple style of animation – yet still completely appropriate for the film itself.

Here is my storyboard for my title sequence. It’s broken into parts because I could’t fit all onto one screen. I don’t have the timing lined up, I’m really unsure how to do it and I wanted to get some kind of feedback before I put the final touches on all of it. I’m also unsure if I want the words to just appear or if they should fade in. I’m overall really happy with it, I feel like it gives a relaxed 70’s vibe that follows the movie very well.

In-Progress Animation:
Final Animation:

This is my final title sequence for Dazed and Confused. I really couldn’t find a solution to the smoke illustration issue, I was spending too much time trying to find another object that could have the same illustration style and I couldn’t think of anything, so I just took out that section all together. I think rather then finding something that was an afterthought this was a better solution to the problem.

I really like the 8mm film effect that I put over the whole thing. I had some problems trying to fade in the music correctly but I think it works okay since it starts off instrumental. For not being really familiar with this program or animation in general, I think I did a good job and captured the essence of the movie.

Leave a Reply

